Birth and Death Certificates

 

Fee Increase Alert:

According to Act 28 of 2014, starting July 1, 2014, the cost of each certified copy of the birth certificate will increase from $10.00 to $20.00.  The additional $10 will be used by the Department of Public Welfare to help fund and provide for children’s advocacy centers as well as child abuse prevention training.

The last day to obtain certificates at $10 (excluding processing and delivery fee) is June 30, 2014.

Mailed in applications must be postmarked by June 30, 2014 to qualify at the $10.00 fee.  Applications received with a post mark after June 30, 2014 and without the proper fee will be returned unprocessed.

First copies for new births will still be offered free of charge and fees may be waived for individuals who served or are currently serving in the Armed Forces or their dependent.   

   

  

The Division of Vital Records maintains birth and death events that occurred in Pennsylvania from 1906 to the present.

This website provides information on obtaining certified copies of birth and death certificates, amending these certificates and other available services. You may need certified copies of birth or death certificates for:

 

·        Passport

·        Employment

·        Inheritance

·        School Entrance

·        Personal Identification

·        Genealogy

·        Estate Purposes

 

 

 

 

There are three ways to obtain a certified copy of a birth or death certificate.  Be sure to complete all required information on the application form provided within each link:

 

 

 

                                                                                                                                       

 

 

Order Online                                                               Order Birth by Mail                                Order in person at one of       

thru VitalChek, the authorized                                                                                                     these 6 public office locations:

service provider for the                                                 Order Death by Mail                                                           

Pennsylvania Department of Health                                                                                               Erie                         Philadelphia

                                                                                                                                                 Harrisburg               Pittsburgh

                                                                                                                                                 New Castle             Scranton

 

 

Previous Topics:

On December 15, 2011, Governor Tom Corbett approved Senate Bill 361.

This bill amends the Act of June 29, 1953 (P.L. 304, No. 66), known as the Vital Statistics Law of 1953, to provide for public access to certain birth and death certificates after a fixed amount of time has passed. This legislation provides that such documents become public records 105 years after the date of birth or 50 years after the date of death.